Babes, What’s for Dinner: Gluten-Free Meatloaf and Red Mashed Potatoes

Sometimes, my belly craves classic Americana.  I don’t know where it stems from considering we never had any traditional American fare growing up.  I still remember my first taste of burger.  It was hard to let go – literally.  Before I was of school age, my father and I accompanied my older sister to her first day of school where they were serving burgers for breakfast – go figure.

We sat at the long benches in the noisy cafeteria amongst all the other excited-for-the-first-day-of-school kids.  I quietly enjoyed my soft and salty parcel of joy.  I was in my own little burger heaven and did not realize how much time had lapsed.  The bell rang and everyone got up to clear their trays.  They tried to take mine but I wouldn’t let go!  My sister laughed and laughed but I didn’t care.  I was in love.  :)

With this recipe, I tried to create an unknown nostalgia.

For the loaf:

  • ½ cup gluten-free bread crumbs
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 lb pork
  • 1 lb beef
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 carrot
  • ½ tsp black pepper, freshly ground
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme
  • 1½ tsp kosher salt
  • 1 egg
For the glaze:
  • 1 tsp whole cumin
  • 1 tsp honey
  • ½ cup ketchup
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp Heinz 57 sauce

Preheat oven to 325° F.

Combine the bread crumbs and the water and set aside.

We always grind our own meat.  I am certainly far from a vegetarian but I find it a little scary to eat something that is made of 200+ different animals.  I’ll take my cow one at a time, please.

Our KitchenAid stand mixer is the one thing that stays out on our plywood counter as it gets used so often.  It’s very handy for recipes like this.

With the grinder attachment, start with grinding the meat.  We used pork butt roast and beef tri-tip that we happened to have around.  Then grind the vegetables.

Transfer the bowl of ground vegetables and meat to the mixer and add the remaining ingredients, including the hydrated bread crumbs.  Mix with the flat beater just until combined.

Pack the mixture into a 10-inch loaf pan to mold the shape of the meatloaf. Flip the meatloaf out of the pan onto the center of a parchment paper-lined baking sheet.

Pop it into the oven.

Then prepare the glaze.  Toast and grind the cumin.  Then combine with the sauces.

Take the loaf out of the oven and cover with the glaze.

Pop the loaf back into the oven for 45 minutes until its internal temperature reaches 155° F.

While the loaf is cooking, prepare the mashed potatoes.

  • 5 medium organic red potatoes
  • 3 tbs unsalted butter
  • milk
  • kosher salt
  • black pepper, freshly ground

The one thing Husfriend insists on buying organic is potatoes.  Like any good wife, I research then obey.  If potato farmers aren’t eating their own crops, we probably shouldn’t either.

Boil the ‘taters until a fork easily slips through them.  Drain and let dry.  Then mash with the butter.  Add milk until desired creaminess is reached then salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

One comment on “Babes, What’s for Dinner: Gluten-Free Meatloaf and Red Mashed Potatoes

  1. Sandee says:

    looks yum lady!

Leave a comment